Founded in 1999 by vocalist “san” and trackmaker “nerve.”  Blending elements/ influences from such inspirations as electronica, dub, jazz, trad etc. from their early days. After songs from the CD-R albums made no.1 in internet music charts in Japan, antennasia released their formal 1st album "Phased" from their label Double Life Records in 2002. Their sophisticated dub/club oriented sound caught interest of promoters in Europe where they toured in Belgium and Holland. 2nd album "Cinemice," characterized by the mixture of deep dub sounds and indistinct elements of jazz, was released in 2005. On the subsequent tour, antennasia supported Lemongrass from Germany, it brought them the opportunity for their songs and albums to appear on the Lemongrassmusic catalog. After "Cinemice," antennasia delved deeper into electronica. Their new songs were played on Ryuichi Sakamoto's radio show and drew attention of electronica/pop music listeners of Japan. Sakamoto made a comment for their 2006 album "23 Bluebird Street, Velo-City." DJ3000, Embee, D-Fried, Team Doyobi, Rob Smith etc. provided remixes for "Velo-city Remixed" album, which was released in Europe and Japan. In 2010, antennasia released "Qus-cus," a calm and introspective album constructed by a collage/cut-up method. Following "Re : Qus-cus" included remixes by D-Fried, Toshiyuki Yasuda etc. The next album "Howling" (2013), which is recognized as one of their highest masterpieces, showed a harsh and heavy side of antennasia still sprinkled with delicate feelings and sadness. The album was influenced by the tragedies of the 2011 Tohoku earthquakes, tsunami and subsequent nuclear disaster in the Sendai region, where they are based. Through "Dragonfly EP" and "Dragonfly Remixes" 2013 from Mezé in Detroit, antennasia completed their new album. The vocalist, san, takes the initiative this time composing, programming and producing most of the songs in the 2017 album "Alter-Egoist." In 2019, the 20th anniversary year of antennasia's forming, they completed the album titled "Error-Code : SFRN". In 2020 and 2021, they released two EP’s "Papier-Mâché" and “Hazy Pink” which show deeper influences from synth-pop of 80s. The long-awaited album "Warped Lucky" is released in July 2023 from Tabula Rasa Records in San Francisco and Double Life Records.


1999年、san(vo)とNerve(track)により結成。エレクトロニカ、ダブ、ポップなど様々な要素を内包した音楽性を展開。アルバム”Phased”(2002)がきっかけとなり欧州ツアーを行う。2005年、”Cinemice”発表。同年より坂本龍一氏の番組「RADIO SAKAMOTO」で楽曲が紹介され注目を集める。アルバム“23 Bluebird Street, Velo-City”(2006)には同氏がコメントを寄せている。2008年、Rob Smith、DJ3000、Embee (Looptroop Rockers)、D-Friedなどが参加したリミックス・アルバムを発表。メディアアート、ダンスなど、様々なフィールドのアーティストとのコラボレーションも行っている。2010年、アルバム”Qus-cus”をリリース。コンピレーション「ARTIST ACTION」(2011)、「坂本龍一トリビュート」 (2012)などにも参加。以降も、リミックスEP "Re : Qus-cus”(2012年)、”Howling”(2013年)、デトロイトのDJ3000が主催するレーベル Mezéからの”Dragonfly EP”(2013年)、”Alter-Egoist”(2017年)と、コンスタントに作品をリリース。2019年発表の”Error Code : SFRN”は9作目のオリジナル・アルバムとなる。
2020年、2021年にはstay homeの時期に制作された楽曲を収録した、80年代のシンセポップからの影響をより感じさせる『Papier-Mâché』『Hazy Pink』の2枚のEPをリリース。2023年7月、待望のニューアルバム""Warped Lucky"をサンフランシスコの新進レーベル、Tabula Rasa RecordsとDouble Life Recordsの共同でリリース。