Warped Lucky (2023)


01 Gone Angels (4:16)

02 Upon My Pillow (3:00)

03 Humming on the Moon (4:02)

04 Kingyo wo Sukui, Anata wo Sukui (5:23)

05 Doppelstrom (2:26)

06 Suna no Shiro (3:36)

07 Winter Sleeper (5:07)

08 The March for the Horizon (5:44)

09 Feeling Like a River (5:20)


Format: Digital, CD

Labels: Tabula Rasa Records (Digital distribution), 

Double Life Records (CD distribution in Japan)


Catalog number: TR124 (Tabula Rasa Records),

DLCA-011 (Double Life Records)


All music written, performed, produced by antennasia

Mixed and mastered by Nerve

Artwork by antennasia

Japanese electronic duo antennasia's eighth full-length album, "Warped Lucky," is a joint release between their own label, Double Life Records, and up-and-coming San Francisco based electronic label, Tabula Rasa Records. Nerve has recently been creating solo drone ambient works under the name NRV, which were first released on Tabula Rasa Records.


antennasia was formed in Tokyo in 1999 by san, an expressive artist with an exceptional voice, and a track-maker Nerve.

It is difficult to describe the music of this duo. Triphop? Electronica? Synth-pop? Dub? Perhaps none of those are wrong, but this capricious duo has produced a body of work that seems to incorporate those sounds while simultaneously looking in other directions, and also throwing in a variety of styles even in a single album.


The album opens with "Gone Angels," a song with Motown-esque bassline on the one-drop rhythm and floating synth pad with subtle noise. Free-falling through the air, "I" mutters to her musical heroes like Lee “Scratch” Perry, John Lennon, Curtis Mayfield, David Bowie, Holger Czukay and Klaus Nomi, "These are strange times. Even the sun doesn’t look right”.


Throughout the album, san's vocals play a diverse role as both a lead instrument with a variety of expressions and as a major component of antennasia's music, serving as chorus, synth pad, strings, sampling source, and more.


The first track is taken over to “Upon My Pillow," featuring a slurred beat, fragments of folk instruments, nostalgic strings, and even clucking chickens. Someone small dances on a pillow, smiling like a crescent moon and sings, “When the morning comes, you will be gone. When a rooster crows, you’ll be alone”. san's voice changes as she sings the surrealistic blues-like lyrics giving the song deeper shades.


San has also produced three tracks for this project. These tracks are different in tone, but all of them are like little symphonies, with scenes unfolding one after the other.

"Humming on the Moon" depicts a live stage on the moon, with dub-like sound effects that evoke a state of weightlessness. The sung melody is quickly sucked into the vacuum, and no one hears the humming, but the stage, with moon creatures and stars as the audience, proceeds gleefully with electronic funk beat.

"Κάστρο της άμμου" is a fusion of an old-style piano piece and electronics, accompanied by traditional and classical elements. In the latter half of the piece, the atmosphere changes to one of serenity with the sound of crumbling sand, and san delivers her vocals with subtle emotion, incorporating narratives and whispers.

In "The March for the Horizon," a dark synth-pop with a theatrical texture, san sings a dramatic and expressive monologue as a ship that loses its crew, sail, and map in a rolling fire storm. The three most original songs on the album are the ones that cannot be categorized within any existing genre. They are at once avant-garde, pop, and partly dance music.


"Warped Lucky" was originally started as a "dark album," and its initial conceptual atmosphere can be seen on a fusion of trip-hop, Bristol sounds and dark ambient on "Winter Sleeper and “Kingyo wo sukui, Anata wo sukui," which has an industrial-sounding chorus that resembles exploding fireworks. Both of these songs are in a style that has not been seen in recent years on antennasia works.


The album also includes "Doppelstrom," a rare instrumental number for antennasia. This track, with Ambient and Caribbean mood at the same time, is impressive for its melodica, which sounds like the wind blowing high in the sky, as san improvises.


The final track, "Feeling Like a River," utilizes ambient composition techniques learned through Nerve’s works as NRV, but this track, produced as antennasia, is simpler but more dramatic, with emotionally rich vocals that color the song and give it a deeper life.


At the end of "Gone Angels," "I" feels another gravity from above and a discreet harmony filled with love, and realizes herself as one floating feather. In the same way, the duo will continue to make something that is not bound anywhere, blown by the wind, by chance, or by warped lucky.

エレクトロニック・デュオ、antennasiaの8枚目(EPを含むと11枚目)のアルバムとなる"Warped Lucky"は、自主レーベルDouble Life Recordsと、サンフランシスコの新進エレクトロニック・レーベル、Tabula Rasa Recordsとの共同でリリースされる。(Tabula Rasa Recordsは、NerveがNRV名義で制作しているソロのドローン・アンビエント作品を最初にリリースしたレーベルである。)




「いびつなラッキー」というタイトルが付けられたこのアルバムは、モータウン的なベースラインにワンドロップが絡み、微細なノイズを含んだシンセパッドが浮遊する”Gone Angels”でスタートする。「私」は空中を自由落下しながら、リー・スクラッチ、ペリー、ジョン・レノン、カーティス・メイフィールド、クラウス・ノミ、デイヴィッド・ボウイ、ホルガー・シューカイといった自らのミュージック・ヒーロー達に「本当に奇妙な時代ですよ」とぼやく。




オープニング・トラックは、よれたビートに、民族楽器の断片、懐古的なストリングス、鶏の鳴き声が重なる”Upon My Pillow”に引き継がれる。枕の上で踊る小さな男が、三日月のような笑みを浮かべながら「朝になるとあなたはいなくなる。雄鶏が鳴くとき、あなたは一人になる」と歌う、シュールレアリスティックなブルーズのような歌詞を、sanは、声を変化させながら歌い、楽曲に深い陰影を与えている。



”Humming on the Moon”では、月面でのライヴ・ステージの様子が歌われており、ダビーなサウンド処理が無重力状態を想像させる。”Κάστρο της άμμου”は、古いピアノ曲とエレクトロニカが融合したような楽曲で、トラッドやクラシカルの要素も伴いつつ展開する。sanは、ときに語り、囁き、繊細なエモーションを感じさせるヴォーカルを披露している。

劇場風の構成を持つダークなシンセポップ”The March for the Horizon”では、「渦巻く炎の嵐」のなかで乗員も帆も失った船の独白が、ドラマチックに歌われる。アルバム中、最もオリジナルなのは既存のジャンルで捉えることのできないこの3曲だろう。アヴァンギャルドでありながらポップで、部分的にはダンス・ミュージックでもある。


"Warped Lucky"は、もともと「ダークなアルバム」として制作が開始された経緯を持つが、その初期のコンセプトの雰囲気は、トリップホップ、ブリストル・サウンドとダーク・アンビエントが融合したような”Winter Sleeper”、炸裂する花火のようなインダストリアルなサウンドのコーラスを持つ”金魚をすくい、あなたをすくい”の2曲に垣間見ることができる。いずれも、近年のantennasiaには見られなかった作風である。


アルバムには、antennasiaには珍しいインストゥルメンタル・ナンバー "Doppelstrom"も含まれている。アンビエントと同時に、どこかカリブの雰囲気も感じられるこのトラックでは、sanが即興で演奏する空高く吹く風のようなメロディカが印象的だ。


最終曲、"Feeling Like a River"には、NRVの活動を通して習得したアンビエントの手法が活かされているが、antennasiaとして制作されたこのトラックは、シンプルではあるが、より起伏に富み、情感豊かなヴォーカルによって彩色されている。


”Gone Angels”の最後で、「私」は、上方向からの重力と、愛に満ちた控えめなハーモニーを感じ、自分は浮遊する1枚の羽根なのだと気がつく。これと同じように、このデュオは、これからも、風に吹かれ、巡り合わせに吹かれ、またはいびつなラッキーに吹かれながら、どこにもとらわれない作品を作っていくのだろう。